The laws on purchasing and carrying firearms vary heavily from state to
state. Analysis of Alaska's firearms laws starts with their State
Constitutional Firearms Provision: "A well-regulated militia being
necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to
keep and bear arms shall not be infringed. The individual right to keep
and bear arms shall not be denied or infringed by the state or
political subdivision of the State."
Purchase of a Firearm in Alaska
Though Alaska does not require a state permit to purchase a firearm, it
is unlawful to sell a firearm to anyone who has been convicted of a
felony, or been adjudicated a delinquent minor for a crime that would
have been tried as a felony if the child committed it as an adult.
However, if 10 or more years have passed since the discharge of the
prior offense, the person may be able to purchase a firearm.
Possession of a Firearm in Alaska
Similar to their firearm purchase law, Alaska's firearm possession law
does not require a permit. Any person convicted of a felony or
adjudicated a delinquent minor for a crime that would be considered a
felony if committed by an adult may not possess a firearm unless 10 or
more years have passed since the discharge of the offense.
It is also unlawful to possess a firearm on school property, on a
school bus, or at any school sponsored event unless given permission by
the chief administrative officer of the school or school district.
Furthermore, it is unlawful to possess a firearm in a courthouse, day
care center, or domestic violence/sexual assault shelter.
People may not possess a firearm if they have violated a domestic
violence protective order. Nor is it legal for anyone intoxicated on
alcohol or illicit drugs to possess a firearm. Loaded firearms may not
be possessed by any person in any bar or other place where intoxicating
liquor is sold for consumption on the premises.
Carrying a Concealed Firearm in Alaska
While there are no permits issued for carrying a concealed rifle or
shotgun, any person 21 years or older may obtain a permit to carry a
concealed handgun. Any person lawfully carrying a concealed handgun
must inform a police officer that he is carrying such a weapon if
approached by an officer in any context. He or she must also allow the
officer to take the handgun for the duration of the contact.
In order to obtain a permit to carry a concealed handgun in Alaska, the
applicant must (1) be at least 21 years of age, (2) be eligible to
possess a firearm under state and federal law, (3) be a resident of
Alaska for at least 90 days preceding the application, (4) have not
been convicted of two or more Class A misdemeanors within the preceding
six years, (5) not currently or within three years been ordered by a
court to complete an alcohol or substance abuse program, and (6)
demonstrate competence with handguns.