Connecticut Gun Laws Ownership of firearms in Connecticut is governed by the
Department of Public Safety's Special Licensing and Firearms Unit.
There are two different sets of regulations for gun ownership in
Connecticut. One set for owning rifles or shotguns and one for pistols
Who can own a shotgun or rifle in Connecticut? You must be 18-years old to purchase a rifle or shotgun. No
permits are required to purchase or carry these guns, however there is
a 2-week waiting period from the date of purchase to the time you
receive your gun.
Who can own pistols or handguns in Connecticut? You must be 21-years old and a legal resident of the United
States to own a handgun or pistol in Connecticut. Before purchasing a
firearm you must complete an approved training course and have passed a
criminal background check, in addition to obtaining local and state
Getting the Permits Start by getting a local permit application from your local
police department. The application costs $70 and will take 8-weeks to
process. All the information you need to get a local permit is included
with the application. Once you are approved you have 90-days to get the
state permit, which costs an additional $70. You will need your local
permit, proof of age, legal residence and photo identification to get
your state permit. Don't forget to complete an approved training course
before applying for any permits.
What training programs are recognized? An example of an approved handgun safety course would be the
National Rifle Associations basic pistol course. Be sure to contact
your local police department before paying for any handgun safety
course to ensure it is approved.
Donít Forget Live Fire In addition to the training course an applicant must have fired
an actual semi-automatic pistol or revolver. Simulations or air gun
fire are not acceptable substitutions for live fire. Most training
programs will include time spent operating a firearm after basic safety
rules have been mastered.
What convictions make you ineligible for ownership? Individuals who have been convicted of a felony can not apply to
own a gun in Connecticut. Some misdemeanors will also prohibit you.
They include possession of narcotics as well as certain types of
homicide, assault, stalking, rioting, endangerment or unlawful
restraint. This is only a partial list, so if you have been convicted
of any of these offences or any other violent crime you should contact
your local police department to discuss your situation.
Other Factors for Denial Individuals with no criminal record can still be denied for gun
ownership in Connecticut. If you've been found not guilty of a crime by
reason of insanity, you are not eligible to own a gun for at least
20-years from your release date. If you have a history of mental
illness but have never committed a crime you may still be restricted
from owning a gun, especially if you have spent time in an institution.
Appealing a Decision If your application for a local or state permit is rejected an
appeal may be submitted to the Board of Firearm Permit Examiners. You
must first submit your appeal in writing no more than 90-days after the
official rejection date. Then fill out and submit the questionnaire
that can be found on the BFPE's website, full details of the appeal
process can also be found on there. Once all your paperwork is
submitted a hearing will be scheduled so the board can review your case.