With 50 states in the union, one state will have the distinction of
having the toughest marijuana laws on the books. Georgia marijuana laws
would be a close contender for that number one spot. Although they are
somewhat lenient for a first time possession charge, beyond that the
penalties for being caught with, selling or growing marijuana are
extremely severe. Having such strict laws would mean that medical
marijuana exemptions are non-existent.
Even with those tough laws, Georgia still arrests around 25,000 people
on marijuana charges every year. Local growers also try to get away
with an estimated 85,000 pounds of pot generated annually.
Part of the Georgia marijuana penalties is a tax stamp. This means that
an additional $3.50 per gram tax stamp is required to be bought by the
offender for whatever amount they are caught with. On top of the
potential fines, this tax stamp can add up to a costly penalty.
Georgia Marijuana Possession Penalties
If a person is caught with less than one ounce of marijuana in their
possession and it is their first offense they will be charged with a
misdemeanor and given probation. That's as far as the leniency goes in
Georgia. Being convicted of a second possession offense of less than
one ounce comes with one year in jail and a $1,000 fine.
A person arrested with one ounce or more of pot in their possession
will be charged with a felony and could serve one to ten years in jail
along with paying a fine determined by the judge. If that possession
charge occurs within 1,000 feet of a school, playground, park or other
designated drug free zone the jail time can potentially be 20 years
along with a $20,000 fine. If you are convicted of under the same
special circumstances for a second time, you'll be subjected to a
mandatory minimum sentence of five years and a $40,000 fine.
Georgia Marijuana Growing and Selling
Any arrest for growing or selling marijuana comes with a felony charge.
For any amount less than 10 pounds the possible jail time is one to ten
years. A conviction for selling or growing amounts of 10 to 2,000
pounds comes with a minimum of five years in jail and a $100,000 fine.
When the amount goes up to 2,000 to 10,000 pounds then the jail
sentence goes up to seven years minimum and $250,000 fine. A conviction
for an amount exceeding 10,000 pounds of pot is an automatic 15 years
in jail and $1,000,000 fine.
If the arrest involves any business with a minor, then there is an
automatic five year jail term and $30,000 fine. When an offender is
caught using a phone or any other communication device in the
commission of the crime an additional four years can be added to their
Georgia Marijuana Paraphernalia
There are no jail sentences or fines for a conviction pertaining to
possessing or selling marijuana paraphernalia. However, a conviction
comes with a suspended driver's license. First offense is one year.
Second offense is two years and so on. There is also the potential of
having any type of professional business license suspended if convicted
of this charge.