If there is one thing you can count on seeing during a visit to Kansas
is plenty of farmland. They are known the world over for their abundant
corn harvests that burst with flavor with every ear. They also grow
plenty of soybeans, wheat and cotton. Yet, there is another Kansas
harvest that might not be as well known and is very illegal. That would
be 15,000 pounds of marijuana grown every year within the state. A crop
like that can have a street value of over $100,000,000. It is the job
of Kansas law enforcement officials to see to it that particular crop
never reaches the street.
Currently Kansas does not have any medical marijuana laws. Therefore
anyone arrested with any amount of pot is considered a user or a seller
and will be charged according to the amount they were arrested with.
Kansas Marijuana Possession Penalties
There are two levels of marijuana possession charges in Kansas: first
offenses or any other following offenses. It doesn't matter how much
pot you have. A first offense conviction for possession of marijuana is
a Class A misdemeanor and can include one year in jail and a $2,500
fine. For subsequent offenses you could be charged with a misdemeanor
or a felony and face up to 42 months in jail as well as paying a
Kansas Marijuana Growing or Selling
Much like the rest of Kansas criminal code, these specific marijuana
laws are direct and to the point. If you are caught growing five or
more marijuana plants you will be charged with a felony. If convicted
of that charge you're looking at 10 to 17 years in jail along with a
fine that will be based on the amount of plants you were caught with.
If arrested for selling any amount of marijuana you will also be
charged with a felony offense. Whether that amount of pot is one ounce
or one pound or more you'll be facing up to five years in jail with a
$300,000 fine. If you are convicted of selling that same amount of pot
within 1,000 feet of a school, your penalty and fine can be doubled.
Kansas Marijuana Paraphernalia
A person who is arrested with marijuana paraphernalia in their
possession for personal use will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor.
Just like the conviction for possession of the drug itself, you can be
faced with a year in jail and a $2,500. In other words, even if you
have an empty water bong you can go to jail.
If you are convicted of possessing paraphernalia related to the growing
of marijuana plants you could be charged with a felony and be sentenced
to upwards of 42 months in jail in addition to paying a $100,000 fine.
Kansas Marijuana DUI Penalties
There are no separate laws for driving under the influence of
marijuana. This is considered a controlled substance in the same way as
alcohol is. The same DUI penalties would apply in the case of a person
convicted for driving while high.