Although there are federal gun laws that apply to everyone across the
country, each state has their own set of firearm regulations and
restrictions. Maryland gun laws have been developed over the years by
their state legislature in coordination with gun owners, gun dealers
and local and state police organizations. These laws reflect the needs
of the gun sport enthusiasts and the average citizens who want to feel
protected and secure.
Maryland Gun Law Purchase Waiting Period In order to own or purchase a handgun or assault weapon in
Maryland, you first must be over 21 years old. You can not be a
convicted felon or what Maryland law describes as a "habitual drunk."
If you had been confined to a mental facility for over 30 days you will
be restricted from buying a handgun or assault weapon. Additionally, if
you have been named in any type of restraining order against you,
you'll be disqualified from buying the firearm.
After filling out an application with a licensed dealer, the potential
gun owner must wait for seven days while the Maryland State Police
performs a background check to ascertain if the information in the
application is factual. Even if the application is approved early, you
still have to wait for the seven days. If the application is denied,
you have thirty days to appeal. You can only purchase a single weapon
every thirty days.
Transporting or Carrying Firearms in Maryland If you are carrying a rifle or shotgun in your vehicle they must
be unloaded. It is against the law to carry a handgun without a permit
unless you can prove that you are transporting the gun from your
residence to a place of business for sale or repair or to a shooting
range. Even under those circumstances the handgun still needs to be
unloaded and kept in either a carrying case or holster. You can't have
it tucked in the glove box or on the seat next to you.
Maryland Permit to Carry Gun Laws Maryland gun law allows for gun owners to apply for permits to
carry handguns, but these permits have to be approved by the Secretary
of the State of Police. Not only will you have to fill out a proper
application but also provide a notarized letter explaining why you feel
the need to carry a handgun. The only acceptable reasons are if you use
the gun in your line of work (such as a security guard or private
detective) or if you feel under a substantive threat of persistent
danger. The same restrictions regarding criminal, emotional and
substance abuse histories apply to obtaining a permit to carry.
Registration of Firearms in Maryland Every firearm that is purchased in Maryland will need to be
registered with the state police. This registration includes the serial
number of the weapon. The dealer also needs to provide a single shell
casing fired from the gun submitted in a sealed envelope to the police.
This will then be entered into the state ballistics database. It is
against the law to sell or own any firearm without a serial number or
identification mark. There is a $75 fee for the permit to carry and a
$10 fee for the standard application.