Missouri Marijuana Law Details The results of the Missouri marijuana laws are reflected in the
amount of arrests every year in the state. The DEA estimates that
upwards of 18,000 residents are arrested for marijuana offenses in
Missouri. Additionally, there is around 130,000 pounds of pot grown in
Missouri each year. If sold on the streets that could generate around
$130 million dollars for the drug gangs.
Missouri currently does not have any medical marijuana exemption laws.
However, there is an ongoing discussion happening across the state
about putting the issue up for a vote. This matter is not being
generated by young college kids, but by the wife of a small town Mayor
who suffers from cancer.
Missouri Marijuana Possession Penalties In Missouri, possession of 35 grams or less of marijuana comes
with a misdemeanor charge. If convicted you could face up to one year
in jail with a $1,000 fine.
Being arrested in possession of amounts of 35 grams to 30 kilograms,
you will be charged with a felony and can be sentenced to up to seven
years in jail with a $5,000.
When you are caught with between 30 to 100 kilograms of pot you are
considered to be a trafficker and will be charged with a felony. If
convicted you could be facing 5 to 15 years in jail with a possible
fine of up to $20,000. At 100 kilograms or more you could face life in
Missouri Marijuana Growing/Selling Penalties Missouri marijuana laws put the possible sentences and charges
of growing or selling pot into the same classification categories. For
selling or growing an amount of 5 grams or less you will be charged
with a felony and can serve up to seven years in jail with a $5,000
It is a felony to be convicted of selling or growing between 5 and 30
kilograms of pot, but your possible jail sentence goes up to 5 to 15
years with a $10,000 fine.
Selling or growing 30 to 100 kilograms of marijuana could have you
serving between 10 years to life in prison. For 100 kilograms or more
you will have a sentence of at least 10 years to life with no parole or
If you sell to a minor, you can expect to have 5 to 10 years added to
your jail sentence. Selling within 2,000 feet of a school or 1,000 feet
of a public housing complex is also a felony with a possible sentence
of 10 years to life and a possible $20,000 fine.
Missouri Marijuana Paraphernalia Penalties Being caught in possession of paraphernalia in Missouri will
have you being charged with a misdemeanor and facing one year in jail.
If you are convicted of selling paraphernalia you will be charged with
a felony and face up to 5 years in jail with a $5,000 fine.