State Laws

North Dakota Felony

     

In the state of North Dakota felony criminal offenses are classified as classes AA, B, and C. Class AA are the most severe of these felony criminal offenses. The following are these classifications including offenses and punishments.

Class AA Felonies
Class AA felony criminal offenses are punishable by a prison sentence of life imprisonment.

  1. Felony Murder
  2. Murder
  3. Any deception or coersion that causes death or by assisting in suicide
  4. Rape involving bodily harm
  5. Rape of a minor
  6. Forcing minors under the age of fifteen to engage in a sexual act and/or performance
  7. Deliberately infecting another individual with AIDS and/or other fatal/terminal diseases
Class A Felonies
Class A felony criminal offenses are punishable by a prison sentence of a minimum of twenty years to a maximum of life imprisonment and fines of no more than $20,000.

  1. Murder
  2. Kidnapping
  3. Robbery with a firearm and/or any other deadly weapon
  4. Sell, distribution, manufacture, and possession of controlled substance(s)
  5. Sexual assault of elderly person(s) or persons who are physically or mentally handicapped. Offender is also required to register as a sex offender
  6. Corruption or solicitation of a minor. Offender is also required to register as a sex offender
  7. Conspiracy
  8. Forcing another adult to perform a sexual act or in a sexual performance. Offender is also required to register as a sex offender
  9. Aggravated sexual assault. Offender is also required to register as a sex offender
Class B Felony
Class B felony criminal offenses are punishable by a prison sentence of a minimum of ten years to a maximum of twenty years imprisonment and fines of no more than $10,000.
  1. Manslaughter
  2. Theft/Grand larceny exceeding $10,000
  3. Kidnapping with voluntary release of victim'
  4. Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or controlled substances
  5. Sell of more than one hundred pounds of marijuana.
  6. Vehicular manslaughter
  7. Sexual Assault. Offender is also required to register as a sex offender.
Class C Felony
Class C felony criminal offenses are punishable by a prison sentence of a minimum of five years to a maximum of ten years imprisonment.
  1. Negligent homocide
  2. Assisting suicide
  3. Felonious driving
  4. Theft $500 or less
  5. Unlawful possession of drug paraphernalia
  6. Custodial sexual assault
  7. Sexual assault - 2nd degree. Offender is also required to register as a sex offender.
  8. Engaging in sexual acts with minors who are at least fifteen years of age. Offender is also required to register as a sex offender.
  9. Terrorizing another individual
  10. Unlawful delivery of drug paraphenalia to a minor
  11. Producing, transporting, and/or sending pornographic materials. Offender is also required to register as a sex offender.
  12. Willfully participating in an obscene act regardless of compensation. Offender is also required to register as a sex offender.
  13. Owning an establishment where obscene performances were displayed. Offender is also required to register as a sex offender.
  14. Promoting obscenity to minors. Offender is also required to register as a sex offender.
  15. Allowing a minor to perform in any act that is harmful to the minor. Offender is also required as a sex offender.
Expungement
In North Dakota the following circumstances will result in expungement of criminal records:
  1. Individuals convicted with possession of marijuana that was in a quantity of no more than one ounce.
  2. Arrests that resulted in DNA profile where no conviction occurred with one year's time or where individual was acquitted or charges were dismissed.
  3. An individual whose conviction on authority for including the DNA profile was reversed and/or dismissed.

    See also:
    North Dakota Gun Laws
    North Dakota Divorce
    North Dakota Bankruptcy Laws
    North Dakota Misdemeanors External link (opens in new window)
    North Dakota Expungement External link (opens in new window)