Ohio Marijuana Laws Details It would stand to reason that states which have adopted medical
marijuana laws would have a more lenient attitude when it comes to
possession charges. Ohio is the exception to that rule.
Although 73% of Ohio residents favor medical marijuana laws, the state
does not allow for that kind of exemption. However, Ohio marijuana laws
are some of the most lenient when it comes to possession and sales.
Even with that decriminalization attitude, there are still over 20,000
people arrested in Ohio on marijuana offenses every year.
Ohio Marijuana Possession Penalties Most states set the bar for possession at 28 grams or 1 ounce.
In Ohio the first cut off for a marijuana possession charge is 100
grams. The charge for possessing that amount is a minor misdemeanor can
just comes with a $100 fine.
For an amount of 100 to 200 grams the arrested individual will be
charged with a fourth degree misdemeanor and face possible jail time of
up to 30 days along with a $250 fine.
If convicted of marijuana possession in the amount of 200 to 1,000
grams the offender will be charged with a fifth degree felony and could
end up serving one year in jail and paying a $2,500 fine.
A third degree felony charge is assigned to anyone arrested with 1,000
to 5,000 grams of pot. If convicted that charge comes with a possible
jail sentence of 1 to 5 years and/or a $10,000 fine.
With amounts over 20,000 grams the offender is charged with a second
degree felony and could land in jail for 8 years and pay a $15,000 fine.
Ohio Marijuana Sale or Distribution Penalties The bottom line for sale or distribution is an amount less than
20 grams. If you are caught selling that amount of pot you could be
charged with a minor misdemeanor and only have to pay a small fine.
The next level of sales offenses is any amount under 200 grams. That
will come with a felony charge and possible jail sentence of anywhere
between 6 to 18 months.
Being convicted of selling between 200 and 600 grams of pot can land
you in jail for anywhere between 1 to 5 years. Selling more than 600
grams of pot comes with a mandatory sentence of at least six months in
There are special circumstances for additional penalties for the sale
of marijuana. If you are convicted of selling pot within 1,000 feet of
a school, within 100 of a juvenile or have prior convictions you will
be charged with a felony and your possible punishment time will be
Ohio Marijuana Paraphernalia Penalties Possessing or selling marijuana paraphernalia is treated as a
misdemeanor. For merely having the paraphernalia in your possession you
could face 30 days in jail and pay a $750 fine. For selling
paraphernalia the jail time goes up to 90 days and the fine to $1,000.
Also, any drug conviction comes with an automatic license suspension.
The amount of time depends on the severity of the crime. It can either
be six months to five years.