Oklahoma Gun Law Details
The United States Constitution only mentions the right to "keep and
bear arms" in one amendment. However, the Constitution also says that
any law that isn't derived from the federal government can come from
Oklahoma has its own state constitution and their reference to gun
ownership is very clear. They state that "the right of a citizen to
keep and bear arms in defense of his home, person, or property, or in
aid of the civil power, when thereunto legally summoned, shall never be
prohibited; but nothing herein contained shall prevent the Legislature
from regulating the carrying of weapons." In other words, if you live
in Oklahoma and meet the legal requirments you can have a gun and carry
a concealed weapon.
Oklahoma Gun Law Restrictions
If you are an Oklahoma resident 18 years or older you can legally own a
handgun, rifle or shot gun. However, you need to be at least 21 in
order to buy those kinds of firearms from a licensed dealer. Under the
age of 18, you need a parent's permission to be in possession of a
rifle or shotgun and these should only be for the purposes of hunting
or sport. No state permit is required to own a firearm.
Additionally according to Oklahoma gun laws, it is against the law for
a convicted felon to possess a gun, rifle or shotgun or have those
kinds of weapon in their car or truck. This restriction also applies to
someone who was convicted of a crime as a juvenile which could have
been considered a felony if they were tried as an adult. It is also
against the law for anyone who is under the supervision of the
Department of Corrections to possess a firearm. This would include
anyone who is under house arrest or has an order of protection sworn
out against them.
Oklahoma Concealed Carry License Laws
Oklahoma gun laws state that unless you are a police officer on duty,
engaged in hunting or sport shooting or have a Concealed Carry License
(CCL) it is against the law to openly carry a firearm. You can carry an
unloaded firearm if you are transporting that weapon from your home to
a gun shop, shooting range or hunting trip. You can also have an
unloaded weapon in your vehicle for the same purposes.
To obtain a CCL in Oklahoma, you need to be at least 21 years old, be
an Oklahoma resident and complete a firearms safety and training
course. Your application needs to be submitted to the Oklahoma State
Bureau of Investigation (OSBI) who will conduct a background and
fingerprint check. There is a $100 fee for the application process.
Your CCL can be denied if you are a convicted felon, lied about any
information on your application, ever attempted suicide, are currently
being treated for a mental illness or have a history of misdemeanor
crime offenses. You can also be denied if you have been arrested and
have a case pending for assault and battery, domestic violence or
illegal drug possession. If approved for a CCL, you can not carry a
concealed weapon that is larger then .45 caliber.