Oregon Marijuana Law Details Before marijuana could ever become legalized, it first has to be
accepted as being either a benefit to medical patients or not harmful
to everyone else. Many states have adopted medical marijuana laws
allowing patients to use marijuana to treat their illnesses. Oregon has
been in the forefront of allowing for medical marijuana use since 1998
when the proposition for medicinal use of pot was first pass by the
Since that time, the Oregon medical marijuana law has expanded. Based
on studies, today qualified patients are allowed to keep up to 24
ounces of cannabis for use as opposed to the original amount of 3
ounces. They can also grow up to six plants for their private use
instead of the original 3 plants.
In order to qualify for this exemption, a patient needs to have a
medical marijuana prescription from a certified physician. They will
then be issued a special I.D. card which they must carry at all times.
For everyone else who is arrested and convicted as a non-medical
user/seller there are penalties and fines to pay.
Oregon Marijuana Possession Penalties A person who is arrested with less than one ounce of marijuana
in their possession will be charged with a misdemeanor. There is no
jail time with this charge only a possible fine of anywhere between
$500 to $1,000.
With an arrest of possession of an amount of pot from one ounce to 110
grams the charge is a Class B felony and comes with a possible jail
sentence of up to ten years behind bars with a $10,000 fine. Anyone
arrested with any amount of marijuana exceeding 110 grams will be
sentence according to their prior convictions.
Oregon Marijuana Selling, Growing or Manufacturing Penalties Those working outside of the framework of the medicinal
marijuana laws can face jail time and penalties. With an amount less
than 5 grams, the charge is a misdemeanor and has a small fine. Being
convicted of selling 5 grams to 1 ounce is also a Class A misdemeanor
but comes with a possible jail sentence of one year and a $5,000.
If you are arrested for selling or growing any amount of pot over 5
grams you will be charged with a Class B felony. When convicted, you
could serve up to ten years in jail and be forced to pay $100,000 in
fines. If you are convicted of that same charge that occurred within
1,000 feet of a school or to a minor, the jail time shoots up to 20
All of those convictions also come with a suspended driver's license
for up to six months.
Oregon Marijuana Paraphernalia Penalties According to the Oregon marijuana laws, selling marijuana
paraphernalia can lead to one year in jail and a $5,000 fine. There is
no criminalization for possessing paraphernalia, just for selling it to