Pennsylvania Gun Law Details Certain states are known for their hunting preserves and have
what are considered by many to be "friendly gun laws." Other states
have residents who trade and collect a vast array of antique firearms.
Often these antique firearms are used in reenactments for famous Civil
War or Revolutionary battles.
Pennsylvania is a state which embraces both of those gun enthusiast
types and has adapted their state gun laws accordingly. For the record,
an antique firearm is considered to be any gun manufactured before 1898
that uses a matchlock, flintlock or percussion cap firing system.
Gun Possession Laws in Pennsylvania If you are a resident of Pennsylvania you do not need a license
to own a rifle, shotgun or handgun and keep it in your home or
business. If you are under the age of 18 you are not permitted to
possess a handgun unless you are being supervised by your parent or
guardian and directly involved with any type of sport shooting or
You are not allowed to possess any type of firearm if you are a
convicted felon or a fugitive from the law. If you have been convicted
of a controlled substance offense within the prior two years you are
also not allowed to own a firearm. The same restrictions apply to
anyone who is an illegal alien, or was involuntarily committed to a
mental health facility.
If you do own any type of firearm but have a protection from abuse
court order issued against you then you are required to surrender your
firearm. Failure to do so can result in being charged and convicted of
a first-degree misdemeanor that carries a five year jail sentence and
Concealed Gun Carry Laws in Pennsylvania In order to carry any type of handgun in your car or truck or to
carry that same concealed weapon you need to either obtain a license to
carry or a Sportsman's Firearm Permit. The Sportsman's Firearm Permit
only applies to firearms used for hunting and trapping such as rifles
and shotguns. The fee for the license to carry is $6 while the
Sportsman's Firearm Permit is $19.00
For a license to carry permit you need to apply to the chief of police
in Philadelphia or the sheriff in the county where you live.
Among the reasons for being denied a license to carry are if it is
determined that you might "act in a dangerous manner", if you have
problem with alcohol or drugs, if you're found to be of unsound mind or
were dishonorably discharged from any branch of the military. If you
obtain the license, you are required to show it to any law enforcement
officer who asks to see that.
Just because you have a license to carry or even a Sportsman's Firearm
Permit doesn't mean you can still carry a loaded rifle or shotgun in
your car. That's still against the law in Pennsylvania. It's also
against the law to carry any handgun on public streets or at public
facilities unless you have the proper license. You're also restricted
from carrying any firearm onto the grounds of a school unless it is
being use specifically for teaching or training purposes.