Pennsylvania Marijuana Law Details
In Pennsylvania there are no laws on the books for medical marijuana.
That means anyone caught with any amount of marijuana in the state is
considered either a drug user or a drug dealer. The difference is
determined by the amount of pot you are found with.
Pennsylvania Marijuana Possession Penalties The dividing line for marijuana possession in Pennsylvania is 30
grams. Being arrested in possession of less than 30 grams will have you
charged with a misdemeanor. If convicted of that charge you could face
30 days in jail and be forced to pay a $500 fine.
For an amount over 30 grams, you will also be charged with a
misdemeanor possession count, but the possible jail time goes up to one
year and the fine increases to $1,000.
With a first time offense, you can probably get probation. However, a
second or third offense could find you having your penalty doubled.
Pennsylvania Marijuana Sale or Cultivation Penalties When a person is caught with any amount of marijuana it falls to
the arresting officer or prosecuting attorney to determine the intent
of the offender. If you are found to be selling or growing pot for
distribution then the charges and penalties become more severe.
For an amount under 30 grams, you would still be looking at a
misdemeanor charge with 30 days in jail. That is whether you get any
money or not. In other words, if you're caught passing along that
amount of pot you could be arrested as a distributor.
The next level for sale or growing penalties is 1000 pounds. Being
arrested with an amount less than 1000 pounds with the intent of
selling is a felony and comes with a possible jail term of five years
along with a $15,000 fine.
If arrested with an amount of pot that is more than 1000 pounds you
could end up serving ten years in jail and paying a $100,000 fine. A
person who is arrested and convicted of selling pot to a minor will
face a double penalty and a double fine.
If you are found to be selling or distributing marijuana within 1,000
feet of a school or 250 feet of a playground you would be looking at an
additional 2 to 4 years added to your sentence.
Pennsylvania Marijuana Paraphernalia Possession/Sale Penalties If you are caught selling or possessing marijuana paraphernalia
in Pennsylvania you could serve one year in jail and pay up to $1000 in
fines. When a person is convicted of selling or giving paraphernalia to
a minor, the charge can go up to a felony and the penalty can be