Utah is a beautiful state to live and work in. When it comes to work
there are two agencies that oversee labor laws. The Department of
Workforce Services handles government assistance programs such as
unemployment benefits and food stamps; in addition they run programs
aimed at getting individuals back into the workforce. The Utah Labor
Commission is the agency charged with governing most of the state's
The state of Utah follows the federal laws for maternity leave. Under
federal law pregnancy is defined as a temporary disability. Should you
become pregnant you are treated the same as someone who has become
While pregnant, yet still on the job, your employer must accommodate
your position by offering lighter duty, modified working conditions, or
any other accommodations within reason. You can not be terminated
because you are pregnant, or because of any limitations that arise from
being with child.
Women with child are entitled to 12-weeks of job protected, yet unpaid
leave. In order to get paid time off, you will need some sort of
outside insurance, either provided by you or your employer, or you may
use any accrued sick or vacation pay.
In regards to overtime Utah follows the guidelines set forth by the
U.S. Department of Labor's fair labor standards act. The act states
that a person who works over 40-hours in a given week must be paid at a
rate that is no less than one and a half times their normal rate. A
person is not paid overtime for working on Saturdays, Sundays, or any
other holiday unless an employee happens to go over their 40-hours on
one of these days.
There are exemptions that apply to workers of certain industries. These
include, but are not limited to, agriculture workers, commissioned
employees, as well as some retail employees. For a full list of
exemptions and to discuss your personal situation contact a lawyer, or
your local labor commission.
Work for Minors
Minors can join the workforce in non-hazardous positions such as
retail, restaurants and office work at the age of 14. Others positions
such as newspaper delivery, lawn care and baby-sitting can be performed
at an even younger age.
Employers are able to hire minors without a permit in the state of
Utah, though it is assumed they will comply with all regulations. These
regulations include not exposing minors to hazardous positions and
observing break stipulations (i.e. a ten minute break for every three
hours worked, and a 30-minute break for every 5-hours worked).
If a unique situation does arise that may see a minor working in ways
that fall outside of restrictions, an application can be made for a
special permit. An example of this situation would be for child actors.
Utah Work/Life Awards
The Utah Work/Life Awards is an innovative award that is only given in
Utah. It is given annually to companies of different sizes that
demonstrate an awareness of their employees needs in work/life balance.
This is done to encourage employee satisfaction and in turn create a
more productive work force.