Although anyone who has spent time in Vermont will tell you it's a
gorgeous state, the best time of the year to visit is in the fall. This
is when the trees explode with colors and the harvests bring in an
abundance of fresh ciders, pumpkins and the famous Vermont maple syrup.
Residents are more than happy to share their state and the products
they make with the rest of the country.
Although Vermont is a state that is small by square acreage standards,
it manages to provide big benefits for its workers. The basic minimum
wage for workers in Vermont is $8.06 per hour for a 40 hour work week.
Any hours worked over the first 40 will be compensated at one and half
the hourly rate.
Vermont Maternity and Family Leave Laws
The benefits of the Vermont Family Leave law apply to businesses that
employ over ten employees for at least 30 hours a week. If an employee
has worked for a least one year for that type of employer then they are
entitled to family leave benefits. The basic benefit is 12 weeks of
unpaid leave within a 12 month period. By taking a sanctioned family
leave, the employee is guaranteed that they can return to their job.
Among the specific times a person can take an extended family leave is
within a pregnancy or after the birth of a child. They can also elect
to take a leave to spend with any newly placed child under the age of
Short term family leave can be applied towards the attendance of any
school related functions or medical appointments. It is the
responsibility of the employee to notify their supervisor of the intent
to use family leave days. In the case of a pregnancy leave, there
should be at least six weeks prior notice given.
Vermont Child Labor Laws
In Vermont, you can work without a special certificate if you are 16
years old or older. Most jobs for minors who are 14 or 15 are
restricted. The exception are with agricultural, acting or newspaper
carrier work or with jobs that are not involved in hazardous conditions
such as grocery bagger, deliveries, errands and cleanup work. Even with
those jobs, a minor can't work more than three hours a day on school
days or eight hours on non-school days. Minors under the age of 14 are
not permitted to work.
Any child over 16 but under 18 can't work in the manufacturing industry
for more than nine hours a day or fifty hours a week. All employers are
required to keep proof of age for any worker under 19.
Additional Vermont Labor Laws
Any employee in Vermont who quits their job should be paid for the last
work on the following regular payday. If an employee is fired, they
must be paid within 72 hours. Vermont employers are not required to
provide paid or unpaid days off for any holidays. That is up to the
discretion of the employee.
Vermont employers are required to provide a "reasonable opportunity"
for their workers to take lunch and bathroom breaks. A lunch hour can
be counted as hours worked unless the break is for less than 30 minutes
and is free from any type of related work.