A famous slogan once used to promote tourism in Virginia was "Virginia
is for lovers." This slogan popped up on T-shirt and bumper stickers.
Virginia is also for presidents by being the birthplace of eight former
heads of state.
Virginia is also for technology. Recently their exports of manufactured
computer chips outpaced the number of coal and tobacco exports
combined. Between the technology and agriculture industries there are a
lot of Virginians who are gainfully employed throughout the state.
Like most of the rest of the nation, the minimum wage for a 40 hour
work week is $7.25 per hour. Overtime is paid at time and half of the
hourly wage. These minimums have been adapted from the Fair Labor and
Standards Act passed by the US Congress. Additionally, this law
provides that an employer does not have to pay for any legal holiday.
Although many employers have decided to offer paid holidays and
vacations as a fringe benefit for their workers.
Virginia Minor Labor Laws
In Virginia, the legal age for a minor to be working is 14. Any worker
who is 14 or 15 years old must have a work permit. When school is in
session, the minor workers can only work three hours a day for a total
of 18 hours per week.
At 16 to 17 years old, the teen worker does not need a permit but they
are still restricted from certain types of jobs deemed hazardous. Among
these types of jobs are any involved in demolition, roofing, coal
mining, operating heavy machinery, logging or sawmilling.
Any minor must be given a 30 minute meal break for every five hours of
consecutive work. An employer who doesn't follow the child labor law
restrictions can be fined up to $1,000 per child per infraction. Any
employee under the age of 20 can actually be paid a minimum of $4.25
per hour for the first 90 days of work.
Virginia Maternity Leave Labor Laws
Job protection is at the foundation of the federal enacted Family and
Medical Leave Act (FMLA). This law states that any employee who has
worked at a full time job for up to one year can take a 12 week unpaid
leave of absence to tend to family matters. These matters need to
concern a newborn infant or recent adoption. They can also pertain to
the care of an infirmed member of the family.
At the end of the 12 weeks (or any lesser amount) the worker is
guaranteed to be able to return to their job at the same pay. The
cutoff for application of these laws is any company with 50 or more
Virginia Additional Labor Laws
According to Virginia labor laws, an employer can't deduct any money
from a worker's pay check to pay for any damages or shortages in a cash
register drawer. They also can't get around this law by having an
employee sign a waiver.
Virginia labor laws also prohibit an employer from administering a lie
detector test to a potential or current employee. However, federal
government workers can be asked to take such a test.