Washington or the state of Washington, as it is often called to avoid
confusion with Washington D.C., is in the Northwest region of the
United States. Over 60% of the states population lives in Seattle.
Labor laws are governed by the Department of Labor and Industries.
A parent can take up to 12-weeks of job protected leave to care for a
new child. This includes newborns and adopted children. In order to
qualify for this time off, an employee must have worked for a company
with over 50-employees for 12-months and 1250-hours. If the business
has less than 8-employees, or is a religious non-profit organization
than a person taking maternity leave is not guaranteed their position
will be there when they return.
For companies that have more than 8, but less than 50-employees and are
not religious non-profit organizations, the amount of time off will be
determined by a doctor's recommendation. If your employer has over
50-people on staff and they are not offering to hold your position for
12-weeks then they are in violation of state and federal laws and
should be reported to your local chapter of the Washington State
Department of Labor and Industries.
The state of Washington does not require an employer to pay for time
off during maternity leave. Before accepting a position you should
inquire into any leave offered for new parents and whether or not this
leave is paid.
Overtime can be made mandatory by an employer, even if the employee
does not agree to it. Most workers who work over 40-hours in a 7-day
week must be paid at one and a half times their regular rate. Overtime
pay cannot be waived by employee or employer; however an exchange can
be made for one and a half hours to be taken off at a later date for
every hour of overtime worked.
Some industries are exempt from overtime laws, for a complete listing
of these occupations contact your local department of labor and
industries. One of the occupations included in total overtime exemption
is nurses, who are not required to work overtime in the interest of
protecting patients' safety.
Required age for employment
A person who is 14-years of age may work in the state of Washington in
positions that are not hazardous to them. A person under the age of 14
may work in certain situations but only after getting permission from
the county superior court. All minors working in the state of
Washington must adhere to modified work hours and break schedule.
Employers must get a minors work permit endorsement for each site they
intend to have a minor working at. The application for these permits
can be obtained through the department of licensing, or labor and
The state of Washington has what is called a prevailing wage for all
public works employees. A prevailing wage is a special calculated wage
that is defined by the average wage, benefits and overtime paid to the
majority of workers in the largest city in each county.