The state of Wyoming is easy to pick out on a map: it's the perfect
square situated in the Midwest (above the perfect square of Colorado!).
Close to half of Wyoming land is actually owned by the US Government
and has been set aside as national parks. Within the borders of Wyoming
is Yellowstone National Park, one of the most famous and oft visited
parks in the country.
With all of this federal land, the many workers needed to manage the
parks are actually federal employees. As such, they are covered by
federal labor laws. Wyoming labor laws have incorporated the national
statues for the other workers employed in the state.
Wyoming Labor Wage Laws
As of 2009, the minimum wage for Wyoming workers is $7.75 per hour but
there are restrictions with that pay. This only applies to companies
who have at least $500,000 of annual revenue or workers that travel
across state lines. For other types of smaller Wyoming businesses, the
minimum wage is $5.15 or $2.13 for employees working for tips.
These rates apply for both full and part time workers and are based on
a forty hour work week. For hours worked beyond forty, the workers
should be paid at time and a half of their salary. Wyoming employers
are not obligated to pay extra for holidays, weekends or night shift
Wyoming Child Labor Laws
Child labor laws are covered under the Fair Labor Standards Act.
Because farm work is a big part of Wyoming, there are exemptions to
child labor laws when it comes to working for the family. For instance,
the minimum age for a minor to be allowed to work is 14 unless it is a
family farm then the age drops to 12.
Even then the minors must have their parent's permission to work and
cannot work as a harvester for more than eight weeks in any year. In
terms of the amount of hours they can work, the only restriction is
that minors can't work during school hours.
If the minor is under the age of 18 they are restricted from working at
hazardous jobs. These would include any job that involves explosives,
logging, sawmilling, coal mining or operating most power driven
manufacturing machines or tools.
Wyoming Maternity Leave Labor Laws
In Wyoming, as with other states, maternity leave is covered under the
federal Family and Medical Leave Act. Basically, any employee who has
worked full time for up to one year and their place of employment is
allowed to take up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave. To qualify the employee
needs to be taking care of a sick family member or taking care of their
With regard to pregnancy or maternity leave, the same 12 week rules
apply but this is also extended to an employee who is adopting a child,
becoming a foster parent or obtaining child custody.
Not all of the twelve weeks need to be used consecutively. Depending on
the situation, an employee might be able to use acquired personal sick
or vacation days to be paid for some of the leave. Proper notification
is needed for extended leave but the employee should have their
position and salary guaranteed upon their returns to work.